Skip to main content

Announcement of Infected Area

Announcement dated December 17, 1997

Basis: Article 18 of the Regulations Governing Prevention of Infectious Diseases and Epidemic Disease Weekly, WHO, November 12, 1997

Re: Malaysia – newly declared cholera-infected area

1. As of the date of announcement (based on the shipping date), marine products imported from Malaysia shall be subject to rules specified under the Items Subject to Quarantine for Cholera, Regulations Governing Quarantine of Imported Marine Products as announced by the Department of Health, Executive Yuan (DOH) and other DOH-stipulated quarantine measures. As of the date of announcement (based on the shipping date), fresh, live frozen and refrigerated marine products imported from Malaysia shall be subject to disinfection and/or detained for inspection by the DOH port quarantine unit until authorities confirm that said shipment has passed quarantine. Shipments which include certificate showing negative tests for Vibrio cholerae or proof of disinfection issued by the exporting country or port authority shall be excluded from said disinfection or inspection measures. Customs clearance procedures may begin only under said conditions.

2.Countries listed as cholera-infected areas include Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, Tanzania, Zaire, Zambia, Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guyana Chile, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Venezuela, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Cambodia, Mainland China, India, Iran, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Vietnam. Altogether, there are 64 countries listed in this announcement.

3.The epidemic situation in each infected area is subject to change from time to time and the DOH shall handle the situation properly in line with related information received on the epidemic.

cc: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Transportation and Communications, Tourism Bureau, MOTC, Board of Foreign Trade, MOEA, Bureau of Commodity Inspection and Quarantine, MOEA, Council of Agriculture, Executive Yuan, Fishing Bureau of Taiwan Provincial Government, Fishing Management Division, Kaohsiung City Government, Directorate General of Customs, MOF, Customs Bureau of Keelung, Taipei, Taichung, Kaohsiung, Hualien, and Suao, Trade Associations of Imports of Taiwan Province, Taipei City, and Kaohsiung City, Office of Chief Secretary, DOH, PR Office, DOH, National Quarantine Service, DOH, Bureau of Communicable Disease Control, DOH



This translation is for information purposes only and does not represent the binding law of the Republic of China. The binding law appears only in the national language, Chinese. Therefore, for purposes other than acquiring information, reference must be made to the original Chinese version of these regulations.